Product detail

Mechanica (HB)

Mechanica (HB)

Author: Betsy Cornwell
$24.99(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 3
Description

Nicolette's awful stepsisters call her Mechanica to demean her, but the nickname fits: she learned to be an inventor at her mother's knee. Her mom is gone now, though, and the Steps have pushed her into a life of dreary servitude. When she discovers a secret workshop in the cellar on her sixteenth birthday-and befriends Jules, a tiny magical metal horse-Nicolette starts to imagine a new life for herself. And the timing may be perfect: There's a technological exposition and a royal ball on the horizon. Determined to invent her own happily-ever-after, Mechanica seeks to wow the prince and eager entrepreneurs alike.

Promotion info

Ash by Malinda Lo meets Marissa Meyer's Cinder: A YA retelling of Cinderella about an indomitable inventor-mechanic who finds her prince but realizes she doesn't want a fairy tale happy ending after all. Fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners and Cassandra Clare's Clockwork Angel will find much to love here.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780547927718
  • : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company
  • : Clarion Books
  • : July 2015
  • : 210mm X 140mm X 25mm
  • : United States
  • : October 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Betsy Cornwell
  • : Hardback
  • : English
  • : 813.6
  • : Teen - Grade 7-9, Age 12-14
  • : 2015001336
  • : 304